"Clos Centeilles, in the Languedoc, in the heart of the Cru La Livinière"

Capitelle de Centeilles

Capitelle de Centeilles

The context

The siliceous pebbly soil, overlaying tertiary sandstone (Bartonian) which is more fissured here than elsewhere, reveals, through its hot and filtering qualities, ideally suited to “its” grape variety, the difficult Cinsault.

The Cinsault was the source of the great Languedoc crus of the XVIIIth and IXXth centuries.  It later fell out of favour because it was planted no matter where, but now, this grape variety with its very limited capacity to adapt has found here, in its prime, with its stocks with their powerful trunks and branches stretched out by successive pruning, the qualities that tradition once recognised in it and which made it stand out amongst many other grape varieties.

Destemmed, crushed, interminably macerated (eight weeks!) in open vats, with the marc cap trodden into the juice (‘pigé’) twenty to thirty times, at the end of this “obsessive” vatting it expresses all its fine pedigree.

Its personality

1 – A beautiful mauve shade,

2 – A lively and sharp attack on the palate,

3 – The mid-palate, underpinned by a tonic acidity and a generous warmth, bringing out flavours of fruit and candy,

4 –  A finish with soft tannins with a fiery and melting wrapping.

An attractive overall balance which recalls the appetising qualities of the most successful Chiroubles or Juliénas, with an additional mysterious touch which gives a discreet reminder of its origins in the sunshine.

Silky and delicate tannins, and melted fruit in the softness of the alcohol:  an immensely elegant wine.

Gourmet matches

Its aromas of little candied fruits and soft spices will accompany feathered game and filet mignon. To be drunk within the next 25 years at 17°.

Scroll Up

"Clos Centeilles, dans le Languedoc au cœur du Cru la Livinière"

Capitelle de Centeilles

A propos

Le sol silico-caillouteux, sur un support de grès tertiaire (Bartonien) ici plus fissuré qu’ailleurs, se révèle, par ses qualités à la fois chaudes et filtrantes, idéalement adapté à ‘son’ cépage : le difficile Cinsault.

Le Cinsault fut à l’origine des grands crus languedociens des XVIII° et XIX siècles. Plus tard devenu le mal-aimé parce que implanté n’importe où, ce cépage à l’adaptation si limitée a retrouvé ici, dans la force de l’âge, avec ses souches aux troncs puissants et aux bras étirés par les tailles successives, les qualités que la tradition lui reconnaissait jadis et qui l’avaient fait élire au milieu de nombreux autres cépages.

Éraflé, foulé, interminablement macéré (huit semaines!) en cuves ouvertes, ‘pigé’ aux pieds vingt à trente fois, il exprime au terme de cette ‘obsessionnelle’ cuvaison toute la race dont il est susceptible.

Sa personnalité

1 – Une belle nuance mauve,

2 – L’attaque en bouche vive et pointue,

3 – Le milieu, sous-tendu par une acidité tonique et une chaleur voluptueuse, exaltant des caractères de fruit et de bonbon,

4 – Une finale aux tanins fondus, enveloppés de feu et de moelleux.

Un séduisant équilibre général qui évoque, dans ce qu’ils ont d’appétissant, les millésimes les plus réussis de Chiroubles ou de Juliénas, avec le surplus d’un je-ne-sais-quoi qui rappelle discrètement ses origines ensoleillées.

Des tanins soyeux et délicats, du fruit fondu dans le moelleux de l’alcool : un vin de grande élégance.

Mariages gourmands

Ses arômes de petits fruits confits et d’épices douces accompagneront gibiers à plumes et filet mignon. A boire dans les 25 ans à venir à 17°.

Défiler vers le haut